About Non-Native Tools

So I was browsing some news
Ask HN: How are you building cross-platform (mobile and browser) apps?

I’ve been developing web apps for 5+ years and in my next project I’ve been tasked with building a mobile (iOS and Android) app that we can also run as a web app. I would obviously like to try keep a single code base for simplicity as we have limited resources. I’ve investigated writing a PWA but I’m put off by the arbritrary heuristics that Google are placing on whether or not the apps are presented as “installable”.
After that, it seems the only options are Ionic, or React Native + separate web app.

What is your experience writing apps for both mobile and browser?

to that question, here some interesting comments

https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=17118657

I use React + React Native for https://www.jqbx.fm. As a 1 man project it seemed like the only sensible way to build mobile (android/iOS) and browser versions. I can share almost all of the code (where applicable) so one can move a lot faster and have a lot less mental overhead.

That being said React Native has stability and performance issues that are tricky and can hold up your app for a non-trivial amount of time. Also staying on top of updates requires diligence and can be a pain. But if you’re looking for the quickest path to market I would say look no further.

well … glad to see someone admit that there are stability and performance issues with React Native

the odd thing is that if you follow the link to the online app, you basically get stuck by a kind of “paywall”
eg. you can only log into the web app if you have a Spotify account
otherwise you can download either a macOS app or a mobile iOS or Android app

So much for the “web app”, I mean think about it, it’s on the web so you don’t don’t have to install anything but it can not be used “by default”, kind of defeating the purpose of publishing a web app.

Then someone mention 3 different tech in 3 different try