Community Documentation Projects

So when I started this forum few years ago, the idea was about having a good forum where people can talk about ActionScript 3.0 and related subjects

something not just there while there is hype and gone the next day when it’s not anymore “a la mode”

something that stay around and is of somewhat good quality, by that understand where people can actually write sample of source code with syntax coloring, where it is easy to copy/paste, where you can search, where there is no advertising or spam, etc.

Originally I wanted mainly a place where people can talk about redtamarin stuff but rethinking about it I just thought “what the hell let’s just include everything AS3”, hence here as3lang community forums.

But other things happened right and left.

First, as a developer I think having access to a language specification is quite important,
ok maybe not something you will refer to every day, but still something you do want to be able to consult from time to time, and there when you search “actionscript language specification” you should end up on this page

https://help.adobe.com/livedocs/specs/actionscript/3/wwhelp/wwhimpl/js/html/wwhelp.htm

but instead you get a 404

that’s why few years ago I started to copy it to at the very worst have an archive of that spec
github.com/as3lang/ActionScript3/wiki/Specification

oh sure you have the web archives

but if you click on the latest archive from August 7th 2017, the way the HTML is done you can only see the frontpage and not navigate the spec, that’s not good.

But ultimately some wiki pages on a github does not really do it for me.

So from that I went to “oh let’s just make a book”, and so from the same markdown content and using something like gitbook I started to copy and archives that kind of important documentation.