New Adobe AIR 33 Pricing - how do you think?

This is the attachment I got , how do you think?

Adobe AIR - Pricing.pdf (133.4 KB)

1 Like

That’s pretty normal pricing but yeah off course some people will not be happy
because AIR has been free for so long, and it’s pretty hard to beats free.

to put things in perspective

• $199 is 0.4% of 50kpa
  • $999 is 0.5% of 200kpa
  • $1999 is 1% of 200kpa

personally

• an iOS/macOS developer license cost me €99 (~$112) per year
  • as a small business, to host 1 website I can invoice customers €20 per month
  • as a freelance developer, I can cover the cost of $199 per month
    in less than a day of work

so sure, if your plan is to publish only free Android apps and you don’t want to show a splash screen, the $199 per year will feel like a tax, but it is manageable.

1 Like

I don’t use AIR with commercial purposes so I don’t mind the splash screen and don’t care about the pricing. But I will keep an eye on this, I wonder if they will add cool features. I’m hoping for API’s, let’s say for mobile, so you don’t have to use a Native Extension. If it’s just security updates well that’s not very exciting.

They are open to feedback and have been very receptive to anything people sent them.

I had some concerns about the cancelation, and what that means for desktop developers. Mobile app stores are different, and that makes sense in that context, but desktop developers that have (for example) 40+ games and put a game up somewhere and forget about it OR can’t access it after distributing to stores (there are common cases with publishers where that happens), would be impacted by the cancelation (no longer distributing unless repacked for free tier). It’s not very practical for indie developers targeting desktops. There are quite a few scenarios where that might get in the way.