The BMovieClip project

Greetings to community,

I am using flash primary as an animator and I develop mobile games to support my animated series. Well, I do not want to to abuse the term “develop”, so I am making clear now, that I am not at any chance an AS3 expert. Actually I am a beginner with only about a year of AS3 and programming experience in general.

I really like the way flash content was at the ‘old days’, when you had the amazing WYSIWYG intuitive experience. Is the fastest and best way to deploy games with rich and complex animations.

Unfortunately, the 'old days" workflow is not viable anymore. Mobiĺe devices need GPU acceleration for decent performance and fps. Therefore we need to deploy raster graphic, at various sizes, to cover large amound of screens.

So I decided to cover my workflow needs and started developing a tool, that will allow me to convert my native MovieClips into raster graphics dynamically at runtime. I call it BMovieClip from Bitmap MovieClip.

This project for sure is very ambitious for my programming skills, but so far the initial working version looks like that is working well at my testings. I am sure will ask for help here many times and that this project will make me a better programmer.

The project is free and of course, open source. You can find the repository here.

Feel free to contribute if you wish and I am very open to any suggestion, feedback and help.

Thank you for your time for reading this post, and thank you in advance fellow AS3lang community, for your possible interest to help or contribute at any way.

PS. Not proud to show my code in public. I feel embarrassed… :sweat_smile:

2 Likes

No need to be, what is useful to you can be useful to someone else and you give it away for free

Couple of suggestions

• maybe provide one or two examples, the classic “how to use it”
  • maybe spend a bit of time describing the workflow on a wiki page

other things as I see you use a ChangeLog.md