What is the difference between Adobe AIR and Royale?

Hi!

I use my app in AS3 / Flash CC -> Adobe AIR -> Windows / Android

I’m new in Royale, with Royale I can use only my AS3 code?
Royale is a competitor of the Adobe AIR?
Using Royale to compile to Windows and Android is best than Adobe AIR?

Or Royale is better only to export to HTML (not my case)?
Migrating to Royale is expected to better performance than Adobe AIR?

My App uses captive runtime.

Thanks a lot. :slight_smile:

**admin edit:** moved to its own topic

Are You Some Kind of Fanatics if You're Still Using ActionScript 3

Hi,

I think it would be best to ask them directly see on their site

now without being an expert in Royale I can answer a bit

You can use both AS3 and MXML

Royale difference is at the level of the compiler
it can output SWF file like the Apache Flex SDK
but it can also output HTML/CSS/JS from AS3 and MXML

Not really, Adobe AIR is a runtime that can “play” SWF files
another runtime is the Flash Player plugin for the browser which can also play SWF files

the difference between Adobe AIR and Flash Player will be about
which API the SWF have access to, in short the capacity of the runtime

when Royale output HTML/CSS/JS formats there the runtime is the browser
and so the capacities are the one of the Web API in the browser

It really depends on which output format interest you

if you use Adobe AIR as a runtime you can compile with those choices

• use the Adobe AIR SDK and compile SWF (and other formats like IPA, APK, etc.)
    that will run with the Adobe AIR runtime )with iOS it’s a bit different)
  • use the Apache Flex SDK merged with the Adobe AIR SDK
    and same as above compile SWF that will run with the Adobe AIR runtime
  • use Apache Royale and compile SWF or HTML/CSS/JS
    SWF format will run with the Adobe AIR runtime
    HTML/CSS/JS will run in the browser

If it’s not your case to target HTML format then yeah Royale is not really useful for you